New Logo.

September 21, 2010

“Re-brand?  Isn’t that something big companies like Nike, Apple, and Target do?” I asked myself as I sat across the desk from my marketing guru friend Will Ragsdale at Mitre Agency.  I had gone to Will asking for advice on updating our website and walked out dazed and confused with images of apples, the swoosh and bulls’ eyes in my head.

But he was right.  Even this month’s Money magazine has an article on the importance of promoting your brand – even if your brand happens to be YOU.  So..if we were going to do anything – the logo was the best place to start.

Fast forward three months later and our whole gang was sitting around Mitre’s conference table looking at the high-tech gadgetry that displayed the new “us”.  It was a surreal experience.

I was really puzzled by the process when they started.  I admit it.  I was skeptical to say the least.  I mean how do you take the very essence of who we are and what we do – then turn it into a picture?  I was later corrected – it’s not a picture, it’s a mark.  And hit their mark they did.

One of Mitre’s many talented team members describing the process

The presentation went something like this in Mitre’s words:  “Barbour Spangle is an intimate studio of plural thoughts with lots of participation and the capabilities of large agencies.  We were looking for a way to visually show your creativity and to give you a mark that is a foundation to your great story.  We drew our inspiration directly from the source – You.   The circular shape is about the whole, shows independence, is holistic, represents multi-faceted eternity, and collaboration.  It shows how things work together to form something, the creative partnership between client and designer, creation of interior space and the essence of team.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Take a look at the new us – we would love to hear from you so please share your thoughts!

Christi B

One Response to “New Logo.”


  1. […] I decided to test this out myself before suggesting it to you so I started with something easy, our logo.  The colors were very close to our original logo colors selected by our friends at Mitre Agency. […]


Leave a Reply

