A place for everything…..

January 24, 2011

January is a great time for taking stock in our “stuff”.  With the generous gift-giving season behind us – our closets, drawers, attics and basements continue to accumulate with it.  There is nothing more refreshing than cleaning out and cleaning up.

So Girls:  Does your jewelry box look like this?

Mine did and I decided there was no better time than the present to come up with some ideas for cleverly storing and displaying my favorite things on a budget (since my wallet still hurts)!  I came up with several great solutions I wanted to share with you.

Take for instance this great hinged shadow box I found at WAL-MART in the craft isle!  For less than $10 you can create a great display for necklaces and bracelets that you don’t want to get tangled up in a box.

With one pull you can open the door and have easy access!

A shallow drawer makes for a perfect way to store and easily see all your goodies.  I lined this drawer with an inexpensive remnant piece of ultrasuede from 1502 Fabrics (for $5 a yard!)

The ultrasuede is a great backdrop – just like the jewelry cases at Simon Jewelers – one of our projects that landed the cover of ASID magazine!

And what about all those great rings you have?  Girl, you need to get those out where they can be seen!  Check out this silver “tree” from ROOST – rings hung from the branches look spectacular and can really dress up your closet or bedroom!  This is more of an investment at $235 but for the statement it makes, you can put it anywhere for a lovely statement piece!

I would love to know how you store and display your jewelry – please share any ideas or comments you have!  We look forward to hearing from you –

XO Christi

6 Responses to “A place for everything…..”

  1. barbourspangle Says:

    I store my earrings in a ceramic egg crate like this one from Anthropologie: http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?navAction=jump&id=973774&parentid=SEARCH_RESULTS.

    My long necklaces are hung on the back of my cabinet door with 3M removable hooks and my rings are beautifully displayed on the sink in a cute little dish.

    -Brianne

  2. Joann Godwin Says:

    Love the frame idea for necklaces! I currently use them for my kids artwork since the doors open and pictures can be easily changed! Love it when things have more than one good use around the house–perfect.

  3. Emily Perry Says:

    That’s such a great way to organize & display jewelry! My necklaces are hanging by hooks on the back of the bathroom door- it’s a sad thing.

    I saw this dollhouse chair jewelry stand at Urban Outfitters. It’s lovely – and architectural. Maybe I’ll upgrade soon!

    http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=17843350&itemdescription=true&navAction=jump

    – Emily

  4. Jessica Ingram Says:

    I use candy molds sold seasonally at places like Target, or simple ice trays to organize earrings in drawers. The trays can stack or be side by side in the drawer so you can always find that perfect ear accessory in a flash.


Leave a Reply

