Meet our Intern Chelsea……

October 31, 2011

Hey! I’m Chelsea Rush and I am an Interior Design student at Randolph Community College. I am from High Point, NC.

Interior Design came to me in an unexpected way. After attending the University of North Carolina at Greensboro for two years and majoring in Consumer, Apparel, and Retail studies, I quickly learned that my heart was not in it and I began the search for a new major.  That’s when I decided to try my hand at Interior Design. After touring the campus of RCC and learning more about the program, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I had no idea what I was signing myself up for and I have learned more than I could have ever imagined. I never realized what a perfect fit Interior Design was for me. Design is my passion and I love how it is able to take my knack for putting things together and having them work in a practical way.

I knew I wanted to have an internship with Barbour Spangle Design Group after getting to know what it is that these ladies do every day. After knowing Christi Barbour for several years, and before I attended RCC, Christi generously invited me to attend their office on the day RCC students came on a field trip. After the students left, I was then able to stay for the day and job shadow. That’s when I fell in love! I knew Interior Design would always be a part of my life from that day on. I cannot imagine any other job for me. This summer, my class came for a field trip and I fell in love all over again. I immediately contacted BSDG to secure my internship.

This fall, I have assisted in showrooms such as Vaughan Furniture, CMI, and Ekornes. I love seeing what it takes to complete a showroom and then the final product at furniture market. I have helped to create centerpieces for the Furniture Hall of Fame dinner that took place during the October market. Spending time in Barbour Spangle’s office has helped me get to know various product lines. I assisted in organizing their resource room; I ran errands for them as needed, and I was also able to walk around with them and see the fall 2011 High Point Furniture Market.  This fall has been great experience for me and I have been able to see and know so much more than I could have thought possible.

Beginning in January 2012, I will return to Barbour Spangle to complete the required internship for my degree. I hope to become more involved in the ways BSDG interacts with clients and just more involved with Barbour Spangle as a whole. I am interested in everything they do from residential to commercial to showroom design. I feel that Barbour Spangle Design Group is the perfect fit for me to complete my internship.

We have thoroughly enjoyed have Chelsea here with us this fall and look forward to having her back in the spring.  Are you interested in completing an internship at BSD??  Send our internship coordinator Brianne an email at bd@barbourspangle.com.

Leave a Reply

