Arlington National Cemetery

November 21, 2011

November 16, 2011 was a new experience for me and my family as we attended a funeral service for my mother in law at Arlington National Cemetery.  Kay Spangle was a very special person to her family and friends and our country has given her the greatest honor by allowing her to be placed at rest in such a honorable and sacred place.

Although I have driven by on almost every trip I have ever taken to DC,  I had never had the desire to visit.  I wish I had taken the time before now because I was blown away by the strong sense of dignity and honor that weeps from every corner .  When you are walking row after row of tomb stones that stretch as far as you can see it is a humble reminder of the people who dedicated their lives to the service of our country.  (photo via: fine art america)

Regardless of your political views, one trip to Arlington and you will feel a sense of pride that you are a citizen of a country that has been and still is filled with dedicated service men and women who protect our freedom every day!  In the words of my father -in- law….Semper Fi!

-Christi S.

2 Responses to “Arlington National Cemetery”

  1. Chuck Portaro Says:

    Kay Spangle was a wonderful person, and I was blessed to have known her. She was not only a military veteran, but a “veteran” of the home furnishings industry. My guess is she served both with dedication, class, and humility!
    Chuck Portaro, Furnitureland South/High Pont, NC


Leave a Reply

