It’s beginning to look a lot like…….

December 9, 2011

(insert your holiday of choice here!!)

Ours here at BSD  is Christmas!!  Aaahhh that time of year again when you bring boxes of decorations down from the attic, turn on the Christmas music and start making your house more festive!  Whether you go over the top like the Griswold’s or keep it clean and modern just a few decorations can really get you in the holiday spirit.  Christmas has always been my favorite holiday.  I love family time and giving gifts!!  My family would always decorate the tree together.  That is after my dad spent hours cussing at the tree while trying to string the lights.  🙂 He was one to make sure that every branch had a strand wrapped around it.  We always had colorful lights but now I am partial to all white with bright jewel toned ornaments.  My brother, sister and I have our own ornaments from growing up.  We used to get a new ornament every year, usually something associated with our current hobby at the time.  Most of them personalized with our names that my mom still hangs on one of her trees.  That’s right, one of her trees!  She actually has 3 in my parents current home.  One is all of our old family ornaments, one is covered in snowflakes and snowmen and the other light houses.

I started decorating our house the Sunday after Thanksgiving but still haven’t gotten around to completely finishing.  My goal for this weekend to get everything up and the boxes back in the attic.  I’m contemplating DIYing a new wreath.  Here are a few inspiring images for Christmas decorations from my beloved Pinterest:

I am thinking about possibly DIYing a wreath like this but with dried white beans….

Love this PomPom covered wreath!

Get playful with your wreath.  Take 3 that are different sizes to create a snowman!

Add a colorful tree skirt to peak out below gifts.

Display your tree in a large round basket.  LOVE this idea!

Wrap thick gauged wire around a foam form to create inexpensive wire modern trees!

Use yarn instead of the generic peal and stick bow for a personalized touch on gifts! (I think that gift wrapping deserves its own post!  Stay tuned!)

What’s your holiday decorating style?  Do you have your tree up yet?  I know one or two designers in this office still don’t have a tree yet!  😉

-Brianne

*All images were pulled from my Pinterest Board.  To find the tutorials for these ideas click on the Pinterest link above that will take you to my “Interesting Ideas” board.  From there you just click on the image you like and it will take you to the website for tutorial or purchasing info.

2 Responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like…….”

  1. Robin Rowe Says:

    Some great ideas! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Amanda Says:

    LOVE IT!!!


Leave a Reply

