“And may I have the envelope please…”

February 24, 2012

I am a sucker for a good awards show.  I suppose it all started when I attended the Daytime Emmy Awards Show in LA in the late 90’s.  {All fashion disaster photos have been destroyed to protect the innocent!}  It was there that I watched star after star win an award and sat at a table with interesting Hollywood celebrities, pretty exciting for an NC gal.  At the much later Hollywood After Party, I spotted giggly girl Kelly Ripa and her then new hubby Mark Consuelos making out in the corner ~ completely oblivious to the wonderful world of fame and fortune surrounding them.  I was mesmerized.

I have to admit, I was thrilled to learn that the very same night I’ll be arriving in LA for the Bloggers Conference, the Oscar’s will be in full swing not to far from my hotel! In the spirit of good design I thought I would share some of the best sets from this years Oscar top contenders.

The Artist (Weinstein Company)
Production Design: Laurence Bennett
Set Decoration: Robert Gould

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Production Design: Stuart Craig
Set Decoration: Stephenie McMillan
Hugo (Paramount Pictures)
Production Designer: Dante Ferretti
Set Decorator: Francesca Lo Schiavo
Midnight in Paris (Sony Classics)
Production Designer: Anne Seibel
Set Decorator: Hélène Dubreuil
War Horse (DreamWorks)
Production Designer: Rick Carter
Set Decorator: Lee Sandales
Architectural Digest is featuring all these movie sets, as well as interviews with the production and set designers.
It’s fascinating to read about their thought process and design direction.  Read more HERE.

xo Christi

Follow Me on Pinterest

Note:  As noted above, all images came from the Architectural Digest website, to see many more images visit their website here and the Oscar’s page here.

One Response to ““And may I have the envelope please…””

  1. Todd Kelson Says:

    Loved the decorating in The Artist, When I left the theatre, my question was- who was “the artist” ; was it the scenic designer, set decorator, lighting director, or all three? ( answer: c, all of the above).
    My only criticism was a a non period phonograph, with a very 50s tone arm in one scene, contrasted with the proper period gramophone horn revealed when he removes the sheets in the room filled with his belongings.

    When you grow up with a dad who was both a local 829 all class member and a network television set decorator, you tend to notice these things…..


Leave a Reply

