A Decade of Design.

August 9, 2012

It’s hard to believe that 10 years ago this month, I had just graduated from HPU and scored an internship with BSD.  I couldn’t have imagined 10 years ago that I would be where I am today. Who knew that the blonde recent college grad would work her butt off (and come to her senses about the blonde) to become a NCIDQ Certified Senior Designer.  The past 10 years have definitely been a story of starting at the bottom and working/learning my way up.

I still remember getting the chance to stylize my first showroom vignette like it was yesterday.  It was the 350 “Metro” maple finished youth collection by Vaughan.  I was so proud of that room.  South Park dolls, tie dye and all!  I also remember being scared to death the first time I was sent out to select wallcovering.  Sitting there flipping through book after book thinking “OMG, I have no idea what I’m doing!”  Boy, have times changed.  In the past 10 years as a designer at BSD, I have not only successfully taken and passed the NCIDQ but I also have had the honor of receiving several ASID design awards.  None of those would have been possible without the support my BSD team and our fabulous clients.

Throughout the years we have learned from each, learned from our mistakes, been each other’s biggest cheerleaders, been each other’s biggest critics, a shoulder to cry on, a friend to laugh with and have always, always, always had each other’s backs.  We challenge each other to be better designers, better friends and better citizens in our communities.

Christi & Christi have taught me not only how to use my creative mind to the best of my ability but they have also taught me how to be a better daughter, wife, friend and one day working mother.  It’s not often that a person can say that they truly respect, love and care for their bosses.  I’m also lucky enough to call mine my friends as well.

It’s not just Christi and Christi on my side but my dear friends and co-workers Kelley, Anne and now Julia that make work feel more like play!  Each member of our team throughout the years have become my friends and will always hold a special place in my heart even though they are no longer here.

Thank you to C & C for seeing something in that young HPU graduate.  I will be forever grateful, honored and humbled that you chose me.  I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years have in store for all of us!!

xo- Bri

3 Responses to “A Decade of Design.”


  1. Congrats on your success! I am positive there is more to come.

  2. Gerri Dewey Says:

    So proud!!


Leave a Reply

